Home » Uncategorized » 3D Printing Masterclass

3D Printing Masterclass

As part of my teaching role as an Advanced Skills Teacher I get to
support other schools in my local area. Today was one of those days. I was
lucky enough to have a teacher and 2 A ‘Level students visit my school to
find out all about 3D printing using our RapMan and BfB3000 printers. The students are currently working on their coursework projects, one a
design for an aerodynamic truck and the other a sensory toy. They had
designed some parts for their projects and we had been sharing ideas by
e-mail over the previous week or two, so we were pretty much able to start
printing soon after they arrived.
We started the session by having a look at the origins of RapMan and the
RepRap project and the theory of the designing, file conversion, g-code
production and the actual printing with different polymers. The students
then got down to work on their own projects. Time really flew by but both students managed to print their parts for their
projects, took loads of photos and screenshots and are now ready to include
this work in their design portfolios.. And their knowledge of 3D printing
and rapid prototyping has been greatly enhanced.
As for next steps. the school has already booked my time for a repeat
performance in the New Year with a larger group of students and staff. I’m
really looking forwards to that.

 EDIT…

I recieved an email from Lauren….

My morning spent with Mr White was educational and exciting. I learnt so much about 3-D printing and really enjoyed myself! It was so exciting to see my prototype layer up all 80 layers! It has increased my knowledge of modern technologies  and has made a great addition to my coursework.

Mr White was very helpful in explaining the machines and software…and he was hilarious! Thank you so much for the experience

Lauren

…. and from Robert

On the 13th of December myself and another student from my Dt class were given the oppotunity to have a part of our A2 project manufactured by a 3D printer.

 We started off with Mr White giving us a presentation on the evolution of the Rapman 3D printer, from a machine capable of building itself to the funky device which we used, while also showing us what the printer is capable making. I was extremely impressed by the car body and the detail of the turbine blades.

Mr White then went through and explained the whole process of programming the printer, he kindly took screen shots at every stage for us so we include them in our coursework. After this he allowed us to do the programming for our indivual parts.

Mr White’s friendly personality (running to the window to watch the hail storm) made asking questions very easy and the visit enjoyable, so the time waiting for our parts to made went very fast.

Rob

Leave a Reply

