Home » Uncategorized » More 3D printing in colour

More 3D printing in colour

Now having easy access to a 3 head BfB 3D Touch printer I really couldn’t resist doing some colour printing for myself. But where to start? Well perhaps nowhere better than the lovely globe by “m6mafia” http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:11660 and previously printed by the guys at BfB. The only problem was that Axon requires 3 stl files – one for each colour and a combined file… But I only found the files for each colour! So after a bit of a tussle with Meshlab and Netfabb I was on the point of giving up when I remembered that I could import the 2 stl files into Creo Elements/Pro as an assembly and then export the combined file… Success!!! 
Unfortunately I don’t have any blue PLA, so green for the land and transparent for the water would have to do. I suppose the final result doesn’t look too bad.
I can’t wait to get back to school next week to show the Geography teachers… Hope they’re impressed!
Leave a Reply

