Home » Uncategorized » Creo Parametric for 3D printing in schools

Creo Parametric for 3D printing in schools

File

Really not certain what the proper name is for this program… “Creo”, “Creo 1”, “Creo Parametric”, “Creo Parametric 1” or ?? I’ve seen it referred to as all of these (even by PTC themselves)

Anyway whatever it’s called I found out yesterday that DATA the organisation that has been administering this software for schools in the UK are handing back the responsibility to PTC in a couple of months time. I also found out that with PTC’s education program I can upgrade my school install from creo elements pro (wf5) to Creo Parametric. So I sent off my emails, registered, and downloaded the software. I must admit it was a bit of a fuss getting all the licence files, Host ID and other details up together but after that the install went really smoothly. I had a bit of a tussle getting the program to display things properly but that’s down to my ancient laptop not dealing with opengl graphics very well, so had to change it to win32_gdi and now it works fine…. Probably not as pretty on screen but hey ho….

So, I’ll give it a go for a few weeks on my machine before risking a full network install in school, it will give me a chance to get to grips with all the new fancy stuff and also let me find where they have hidden everything on the lovely new ribbon toolbars…. A good idea perhaps to do this before I try teaching it!

Good news is that it opens files fine from previous (education) versions of creo elements, pro engineer or whatever it was called…. And the stl files export ok for 3D printing… So let’s see how it goes. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about all this again soon.

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous says:

    Dave,
    Glad you like Creo, I see you’re already modelling some unteresting shapes. The all new ribbon menus and streamlined workflow are going down a storm in schools. Have you played aound with the new Direct modelling app or the Freestyle surfacing tools? For the first time product designers have easy to use surfacing tools that are perfect for organic shapes!
    The graphics problems you refer to crop up with the low spec PCs some schools insist on buying. Did you try reducing the colours from 32K down to 16K. This sometimes sorts out missing highlight colours without slowing everything down switching OpenGL into main memory.
    You are quite correct, teachers accredited with the D&T Association for ProE or Creo Elements Pro can upgrade free by contacting me.
    Other teachers wanting Creo can register for a fully functioning single seat copy of Creo on http://www.ptcschools.com. If they complete accredited training they recieve a free site license.
    Keep up the great work!
    Tim Bortherhood – PTC Curriculum Development Manager
    tbrotherhood@ptc.com

Leave a Reply

